I’ve made the decision and have come to the conclusion that I definitely want to have weight loss surgery. Although my initial interest was piqued when I saw my current insurance covers bariatric surgery, I’ve realized now that I will most likely get denied and will have to find a way to pay on my own. But at this point I’m dedicated enough to this that I’m willing to do what it takes. The surgery I’ve decided on is called a Vertical Sleeve Gastrectomy.

This was not an easy decision for me to make. I’ve struggled with body image practically since I can remember. It’s only been relatively recently that I learned about body/size/fat acceptance. And I welcomed it as a refreshing change to the voice of criticism that I always hear in my head. However I knew deep down I could never truly embrace such acceptance for myself. Not as I am now. I believe in Healthy At Every Size and know that it does work for many people who identify as fat, however I knew it would not work for me. Having an eating disorder puts a totally unhealthy spin on my relationship with food and I know that living a healthy lifestyle is not something I can manage without significant help.

I believe that WLS will provide me with a means to make those healthy changes. Ongoing therapy is another tool. I know not everyone will support my decision in this, but I hope everyone at least respects that it is my body and ultimately my decision to make.

